MA Made Films Receive Numerous Oscar Noms

Oscar Nominations 2022: The Complete List

Massachusetts made films in blue

Best Picture



Don’t Look Up

Drive My Car


King Richard

Licorice Pizza

Nightmare Alley

The Power of the Dog

West Side Story

Best Director

Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Ryûsuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)

Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)

Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

Steven Spielberg (West Side Story)

Best Lead Actor

Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos)

Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)

Andrew Garfield (Tick, Tick … Boom!)

Will Smith (King Richard)

Denzel Washington (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best Lead Actress

Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye)

Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)

Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)

Nicole Kidman (Being the Ricardos)

Kristen Stewart (Spencer)

Best Supporting Actor

Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)

Troy Kotsur (CODA)

Jesse Plemons (The Power of the Dog)

J.K. Simmons (Being the Ricardos)

Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley (The Lost Daughter)

Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)

Judi Dench (Belfast

Kirsten Dunst (The Power of the Dog)

Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Best Adapted Screenplay

CODA, screenplay by Siân Heder

Drive My Car, screenplay by Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

Dune, screenplay by Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth

The Lost Daughter, written by Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power of the Dog, written by Jane Campion

Best Original Screenplay

Belfast, written by Kenneth Branagh

Don’t Look Up, screenplay by Adam McKay; story by Adam McKay and David Sirota

King Richard, written by Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza, written by Paul Thomas Anderson

The Worst Person in the World, written by Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier

Best Cinematography

Dune, Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley, Dan Laustsen

The Power of the Dog, Ari Wegner

The Tragedy of Macbeth, Bruno Delbonnel

West Side Story, Janusz Kaminski

Best Animated Feature Film

Encanto, Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino and Clark Spencer

Flee, Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Luca, Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren

The Mitchells vs. the Machines, Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Kurt Albrecht

Raya and the Last Dragon, Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho

Best Animated Short Film

Affairs of the Art, Joanna Quinn and Les Mills

Bestia, Hugo Covarrubias and Tevo Díaz

Boxballet, Anton Dyakov

Robin Robin, Dan Ojari and Mikey Please

The Windshield Wiper, Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sanchez

Best Costume Design

Cruella, Jenny Beavan

Cyrano, Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran

Dune, Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan

Nightmare Alley, Luis Sequeira

West Side Story, Paul Tazewell

Best Original Score

Don’t Look Up, Nicholas Britell

Dune, Hans Zimmer

Encanto, Germaine Franco

Parallel Mothers, Alberto Iglesias

The Power of the Dog, Jonny Greenwood

Best Sound

Belfast, Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri

Dune, Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett

No Time to Die, Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor

The Power of the Dog, Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb

West Side Story, Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy

Best Original Song

Be Alive from King Richard, music and lyric by Dixson and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter

Dos Oruguitas from Encanto, music and lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Down To Joy from Belfast, music and lyric by Van Morrison

No Time To Die from No Time to Die, music and lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

Somehow You Do from Four Good Days, music and lyric by Diane Warren

Best Documentary Feature

Ascension, Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy and Nathan Truesdell

Attica, Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry

Flee, Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised), Ahmir Questlove Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein

Writing With Fire, Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Best Documentary Short Subject

Audible, Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean

Lead Me Home, Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk

The Queen of Basketball, Ben Proudfoot

Three Songs for Benazir, Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei

When We Were Bullies, Jay Rosenblatt

Best Film Editing

Don’t Look Up, Hank Corwin

Dune, Joe Walker

King Richard, Pamela Martin

The Power of the Dog, Peter Sciberras

Tick, Tick…Boom! Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum

Best International Feature Film

Drive My Car (Japan)

Flee (Denmark)

The Hand of God (Italy)

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom (Bhutan)

The Worst Person in the World (Norway)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Coming 2 America, Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer

Cruella, Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon

Dune, Donald Mowat, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr

The Eyes of Tammy Faye, Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh

House of Gucci, Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras

Best Production Design

Dune, production design: Patrice Vermette; set decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos

Nightmare Alley, production design: Tamara Deverell; set decoration: Shane Vieau

The Power of the Dog, production design: Grant Major; set decoration: Amber Richards

The Tragedy of Macbeth, production design: Stefan Dechant; set decoration: Nancy Haigh

West Side Story, production design: Adam Stockhausen; set decoration: Rena DeAngelo

Best Visual Effects

Dune, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy, Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick

No Time to Die, Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver

Spider-Man: No Way Home, Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick

Best Live Action Short Film

Ala Kachuu – Take and Run, Maria Brendle and Nadine Lüchinger

The Dress, Tadeusz Łysiak and Maciej Ślesicki

The Long Goodbye, Aneil Karia and Riz Ahmed

On My Mind, Martin Strange-Hansen and Kim Magnusson

Please Hold, K.D. Dávila and Levin Menekse

Gloucester-set ‘CODA’ gets 3 Oscar nominations, makes history for deaf representation
Douglas Trumbull Dies: VFX Legend On ‘2001,’ ‘Blade Runner,’ ‘Close Encounters’ Was 79



Share to